Parker studying possibilities to join ASVEL, Manu undecided on Virtus offer


As reported by BasketEurope, in an interview released at L’Equipe, San Antonio Spurs point guard Tony Parker said that in the next days he will meet with his lawyers to study the possibilities to join ASVEL during the NBA lockout.

Ginobili and Parker may consider playing overseas as the NBA lockout drags on.

“In the next days I will meet my lawyers and we will see how my chances are of returning to Europe. Insurance companies are happy because no NBA player got injured during Eurobasket so they are not going to raise the prices. I hope I can negotiate a good price. For sure, If I sign with ASVEL, I am going to pay by my own the cost of the insurance” said Parker.

Meanwhile, Parker’s backcourt buddy in San Antonio, Manu Ginobili has an offer to rejoin Virtus Bologna of the Italian League, but his agent, Herb Rudoy, reiterated on Thursday that Ginobili has made no decision about the Virtus offer, even after the NBA has announced that training camp will be postponed indefinitely.

5 thoughts on “Parker studying possibilities to join ASVEL, Manu undecided on Virtus offer

  1. I hope Parker opts to rest until the lockout is resolved rather than play and pay for his own insurance. Manu seems to be still on a “wait and see” attitude.

  2. As a Spurs fan, I’m not sure if this is good news or not, but I’ll respect the players’ decision.

    I just hope they will take necessary rest, before either of them decides to play overseas, especially Manu because he’s already 34.

  3. I believe both players will only play overseas if the NBA announces that the entire 2011-2012 season is wiped out.

    Manu is hoping the season to resume and Parker has to pay a lot just to play for ASVEL, I just don’t see it happening for both of them.

  4. In the end, the decision will be always up to the players and they know their bodies better than us and can always decide on what they think is best for them.

    We can only hope that they always include the interest of their NBA TEAMS and FANS. GO SPURS GO!

  5. Pingback: Parker to decide next week whether to join ASVEL during lockout « Spurs World

Speak your Mind...

